Bhagavad Gita

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita: Chapter 14: Guṇa Traya Vibhāga Yogam, Verse 20:

Bhagavad Gita - krishna

(Image Courtesy Mahanidhiswami)

If  We Are Influenced By The Three Modes, We Will Inevitably Suffer From Recurrent Birth In The Material Domain, Disease, Old Age, And Death

गुणानेतानतीत्य त्रीन्देही देहसमुद्भवान् |
जन्ममृत्युजरादु:खैर्विमुक्तोऽमृतमश्रुते || 14.20||

guṇān etān atītya trīn dehī deha-samudbhavān
janma-mṛityu-jarā-duḥkhair vimukto ’mṛitam aśhnute|| 14.20||

Shloka Translation
BG – Ch. 13- Ver. 20:

He attains my nature when he sees no other doer but the gunas and recognizes himself as transcending the gunas.


If we are influenced by the three modes, we will inevitably suffer the repercussions, which include recurrent birth in the material domain, disease, old age, and death. These are the four main sources of material misery.

For human beings, the Vedas establish a number of standards of conduct, social duties, ceremonies, and restrictions. Karma dharma, varnashrama dharma, and śhārīrik dharma are all terms used to describe the mandated obligations and rules of conduct.

They assist us in moving from tamo and rajo guna to sattva guna. However, attaining sattva guna is not sufficient; it is also a type of enslavement. Being enslaved by gold chains can be compared to the way of goodness. Our ultimate goal is to break free from the confines of material life.

Verse & what we can learn

Shri Krishna warns us not to get caught in the Prakriti machine. If we identify with Prakriti, which is nothing more than the three gunas, we must accept all of its laws, which include birth, death, reincarnation, joy, and sadness, among others.

We must realize that we neither accomplish anything nor experience the consequences of our activities. Prakriti is the source of all action and reaction. We realize that we have erroneously taken action and response upon ourselves once we establish ourselves as a witness.

The three gunas of Prakriti make up the entire cosmos, including the body with which we are identified. Despite the fact that it seems to us as a reality, Prakriti will be unable to bind us to its laws once we identify it for what it is: an illusion.

We will see Prakriti as Ishvara sees Prakriti, as a detached spectator, after we are able to rise above affiliation with the three gunas. When we understand our identification with Ishvara in this way, we will achieve emancipation and self-realization.

To acquire knowledge and implement that knowledge in life one needs to be mentally and physically active and healthy and for that daily meditation is a great tool.

There are various types of meditation like Buddhist meditation, heartfulness meditation, mindfulness meditation, meditation for stress, and each meditation benefits are countless. There is also numerous meditation techniques for beginners which help in practicing daily meditation so go ahead and start your journey towards a peaceful and balanced life.

In the next shloka Arjuna asks Shri Krishna to describe about quialities of those who have transcended trigunas.

Let’s learn to live with “The Gita” via Meditation Affinity…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *