Bhagavad Gita

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita: Chapter 14: Guṇa Traya Vibhāga Yogam, Verse 21:

Bhagavad Gita - krishna --bhagavad gita dhyana shloka

(Image Courtesy Mahanidhiswami)

We Are The Only Ones Who Can Accurately Determine Whether We Are In A Sattvic, Rajasic, Or Tamasic Mental State

अर्जुन उवाच |

कैर्लिङ्गैस्त्रीन्गुणानेतानतीतो भवति प्रभो |
किमाचार: कथं चैतांस्त्रीन्गुणानतिवर्तते || 14.21||

arjuna uvācha
kair liṅgais trīn guṇān etān atīto bhavati prabho
kim āchāraḥ kathaṁ chaitāns trīn guṇān ativartate|| 14.21||

Shloka Translation
BG – Ch. 14- Ver. 21:

Arjuna enquired, “O Lord, what are the qualities of people who have gone beyond the three gunas?” What is their demeanour? How do they break free from the gunas’ servitude?


Shree Krishna told Arjuna about transcending the three gunas. As a result, he now asks three questions about the gunas. “What are the symptoms of people who have transcended the three gunas?” he asks first.

“Conduct” is the meaning of the word āchāraḥ . “How do such transcendentalists conduct themselves?” is Arjun’s second inquiry. “Transcend” is the meaning of the term ativartate “How does one transcend the three gunas?” he asks as his third query. Shree Krishna responds to his questions in a methodical manner.

Verse & what we can learn

Arjuna generally speaks when he has a question or believes he requires a more practical interpretation of what he has just heard. This has happened to us countless times. Arjuna wished to discover the markings of a person who is established in knowledge, sthitha prajnya, in the second chapter. In the chapter on bhakti yoga, Arjuna inquired about the indications of an accomplished devotee. We, as listeners, have benefited greatly from every question he has posed.

Arjuna felt it was fair to pose a question at this point after hearing a lengthy description of the three gunas but only a few shlokas on the person who transcends those gunas and attains immortality. He was curious about three things. To begin, how can one tell if someone has transcended the three gunas? Second, how does such a person interact with the rest of the world? Third, how exactly does he transcend the three gunas?

Everything we learn in this chapter is solely for the purpose of self-reflection, not for condemning or evaluating others. We are the only ones who can accurately determine whether we are in a sattvic, rajasic, or tamasic mental state. There’s another side to learning about the signs of someone who has transcended the gunas’ power. These are characteristics that we should strive to foster in our lives until we achieve the state of liberty.

To acquire knowledge and to implement that knowledge in life one needs to be mentally and physically active and healthy and for that daily meditation is a great tool.

There are various types of meditation like Buddhist meditation, heartfulness meditation, mindfulness meditation, meditation for stress, and each meditation benefits are countless. There is also numerous meditation techniques for beginners which help in practicing daily meditation so go ahead and start your journey towards a peaceful and balanced life.

In the next four shloka Shri Krishna describes qualities of people who have gone beyond the three gunas.

Let’s learn to live with “The Gita” via Meditation Affinity…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *