Bhagavad Gita

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita: Chapter 13: Kṣhetra Kṣhetrajña Vibhāg Yogam, Verse 20:

Bhagavad Gita - krishna

(Image Courtesy Mahanidhiswami)

The Soul Is Also An Expansion Of The Energy Of God It Is A Fragment Of The Soul Energy Of God

प्रकृतिं पुरुषं चैव विद्ध्यनादी उभावपि |
विकारांश्च गुणांश्चैव विद्धि प्रकृतिसम्भवान् || 13.20||

prakṛitiṁ puruṣhaṁ chaiva viddhy anādī ubhāv api
vikārānśh cha guṇānśh chaiva viddhi prakṛiti-sambhavān|| 13.20||

Shloka Translation
BG – Ch. 13- Ver. 20:

Prakriti is thought to be the cause of all actions in the body and its instruments. Purusha is thought to be the cause of happiness and sadness.


Maya, or prakiti, is the name for material nature. Being a form of God’s energy, it has existed from the beginning of time; in other words, it is eternal. The soul is likewise immortal, and it is referred to as purush (the living entity) here, whereas God is referred to as param purusha (the Supreme Living Entity).

The soul is also a manifestation of God’s vitality. “The soul is a fraction of God’s soul energy The jiva shakti is a sentient energy, whereas material nature is an insentient energy. It is both divine and unchangeable. It does not alter during the course of different lifetimes or phases of one existence.

Asti (presence in the womb), jayate (birth), vardhate (growing), viparinamate (procreation), apakshiyate (diminution), and vinaśhyati (death).are the six stages through which the body traverses in a lifetime (death). Material energy, also known as prakiti or Maya, is responsible for these changes in the body. It gives rise to the three natural modes of sattva, rajas, and tamas, as well as their infinite combinations.

Verse & what we can learn

Shri Krishna claims that Prakriti, not Purusha, is the source of all acts in this universe. Shri Krishna makes it crystal clear that our body’s intellect, ego, and mind take input from our senses, filter it through our vaasanaas, and send commands to our action organs. All of this is taking place within the Prakriti world.

The Purusha is the awareness and knowing principle that exists within the body. Finally, only the Purusha has the ability to generate knowledge. Only the Purusha knows what the senses and mind report. There will be no way to discern what Prakriti has projected without the Purusha.
Our body interacts with other bodies in the world through its organs. It carries out activities that the Purusha perceives as happiness or sadness. The cycle of happiness and sadness continues from one deed to the next, from one experience to the next.

Our true nature, we’ve been informed, is the eternal essence. It encompasses the entire cosmos. It is indestructible, everlasting, and indivisible. Prakriti is also said to project the entire universe of names and forms through some unexplainable magic. So, how does Purusha, the third entity, come into being? Also, how does it adopt one body from among all the world’s bodies as its own, experiencing only that body’s joys and sorrows?

To acquire knowledge and to implement that knowledge in life one needs to be mentally and physically active and healthy and for that daily meditation is a great tool.

There are various types of meditation like Buddhist meditation, heartfulness meditation, mindfulness meditation, meditation for stress, and each meditation benefits are countless. There is also numerous meditation techniques for beginners which help in practicing daily meditation so go ahead and start your journey towards a peaceful and balanced life.

In the next shloka, Shri Krishna explains the core reason of samsara, or our recurrent experiences of joy and sorrow.

Let’s learn to live with “The Gita” via Meditation Affinity…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *