Bhagavad Gita

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita: Chapter 13: Kṣhetra Kṣhetrajña Vibhāg Yogam, Verse 19:

Bhagavad Gita - krishna

(Image Courtesy Mahanidhiswami)

Devotion Not Only Helps To Know God, But It Also Makes The Devotee Godlike

इति क्षेत्रं तथा ज्ञानं ज्ञेयं चोक्तं समासत: |
मद्भक्त एतद्विज्ञाय मद्भावायोपपद्यते || 13.19||

iti kṣhetraṁ tathā jñānaṁ jñeyaṁ choktaṁ samāsataḥ
mad-bhakta etad vijñāya mad-bhāvāyopapadyate|| 13.19||

Shloka Translation
BG – Ch. 13- Ver. 19:

I’ve now disclosed the field’s nature, the meaning of knowledge, and the object of knowledge to you. Only My followers have the ability to comprehend this in actuality, and by doing so, they are able to acquire My holy nature.


Shree Krishna now brings His presentation of the field and object of knowledge to a close by explaining the benefit of understanding this subject. However, He thinks it appropriate to bring in devotion once more, stating that only the devotees can properly comprehend this truth. Those who practice karma, jnana, and ashtanga yoga, etc. without bhakti cannot genuinely comprehend the significance of the Bhagavad Gita, even if they believe they do. Bhakti is a necessary component of all pathways leading to God’s understanding.

Devotion not only helps us to know God, but it also makes the devotee godlike, as Shree Krishna asserts. This has been repeatedly highlighted in the Vedic scriptures. Only Bhakti can lead us into God’s presence. Bhakti has complete power over God. As a result, devote yourself solely to bhakti.” “Those who devote themselves to the Supreme Divine Personality in bhakti, giving up all material wants, are free from the cycle of life and death.”

According to Shree Krishna, he is not accomplished through ashtanga-yoga, sankhya study, scriptural knowledge cultivation, austerities, or renunciation. he is to be won over solely by bhakti.” “One can only come to know who he is in Truth by passionate commitment to him. Then, after getting to know him, his devotee enters into full consciousness of him.

Verse & what we can learn

We learned about the lower and upper elements of Ishvara. The five components, as well as the mind, ego, and intellect, make up the lower nature. The life-giving power, which is also the experiencer, the subject, is part of the higher nature. In this way, Ishvara is established as the universe’s ultimate cause.

The lower nature is referred to as “Prakriti,” while the higher nature is referred to as “Purusha.” First, Shri Krishna claims that both of Ishvara’s attributes have no beginning and are eternal. This is because Ishvara is eternal, thus his characteristics must be eternal as well, and anything that has no origin can also have an end.

Prakriti is the source of all changes and attributes. The terms Maya and prakriti are interchangeable. Ishvara wields the power of Prakriti. It is beyond our intellect’s comprehension because our intellect is a Prakriti product. Prakriti can only be understood by imagining it as a magician’s trick.

This Prakriti gives birth to five elements, each of which is responsible for the creation of the visible universe. The term “vikaaraas” refers to these combinations or variations of Prakriti. Sattva, rajas, and tamas are the three “gunaas” or qualities that make up Prakriti. Happiness, grief, and attachment are examples of mental states that manifest these attributes. Everything returns to Prakriti, and everything is derived from Prakriti.

To acquire knowledge and to implement that knowledge in life one needs to be mentally and physically active and healthy and for that daily meditation is a great tool.

There are various types of meditation like Buddhist meditation, heartfulness meditation, mindfulness meditation, meditation for stress, and each meditation benefits are countless. There is also numerous meditation techniques for beginners which help in practicing daily meditation so go ahead and start your journey towards a peaceful and balanced life.

In the next shloka Shri Krishna tells about Prakriti and Purusha.

Let’s learn to live with “The Gita” via Meditation Affinity…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *