Bhagavad Gita

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita: Chapter 10: Vibhuti Yogam Verses 6

Bhagavad Gita - krishna --bhagavad gita dhyana shloka

(Image Courtesy Mahanidhiswami)

All Of The Great Sages, Saints, And Manus Are Descended From The Divine Mind

महर्षय: सप्त पूर्वे चत्वारो मनवस्तथा |
मद्भावा मानसा जाता येषां लोक इमा: प्रजा: || 10.6||

maharṣhayaḥ sapta pūrve chatvāro manavas tathā
mad-bhāvā mānasā jātā yeṣhāṁ loka imāḥ prajāḥ||10.6||

Shloka Translation
BG – Ch. 10- Ver. 6:

My thoughts gave birth to the seven great Sages, the four great Saints before them, and the fourteen Manus. All humans on the planet have descended from them.


Shree Krishna continues to explain how he is the origin of all things. He described twenty emotions previously, and now he mentions twenty-five heightened personalities. The seven great Sages, the four great Saints, and the fourteen Manus are the seven great Sages, the four great Saints, and the fourteen Manus. He also presents a genealogy of the universe, which is his offspring.

Vishnu’s Hirayagarbh force gave birth to Brahma. Sanak, Sanandan, Sanat, and Sanatan are the four great saints who descended from Brahma. They’re also known as the Kumaras. The four Kumaars are Brahma’s eldest children in our universe. They don’t have a mother because they were born asexually from their father’s thinking alone.

They were empowered to help others achieve liberation through spiritual sadhana since they were eternally liberated souls and experts in the science of Yoga. The seven sages followed the four Kumaras. Mareech, Angira, Atri, Pulastya, Pulaha, Kratu, and Vasishtha are among them.

They were given the responsibility of increasing the human population through procreation. The fourteen Manus, Svayambhuva, Swarochisha, Uttam, Tamas, Raivat, Chakshusha, Vaivasvat, Savarni, Dakshasavarni, Brahmasavarni, Dharmasavarni, Rudra-putra, Rochya, and Bhautyaka are the next to appear. They were given the authority to govern humanity from the celestial abodes, as well as to establish and maintain Vedic dharma. We are currently living in the period of Vaivasvat Manu, the seventh Manu. Vaivasvat Manvantar is the name given to this period. There will be seven more Manus in this kalpa (day of Brahma).

Verse & what we can learn

According to tradition, seven great sages and fourteen persons known as “Manus” created the entire cosmos. Shri Krishna claims that Ishvara created these sages and Manus, the makers of all living and inert beings in the cosmos, with his intellect.
Lord Brahma was created initially by Ishvara, who tasked him with the task of constructing the universe. The four child-sages Sanaka, Sanandana, Sanaatana, and Sanatkumaara were then produced by Lord Brahma. They declined to populate the world when he requested them to because they didn’t want to get involved in any material pursuits. They signed a vow of chastity and wandered the world, always thinking of Ishvara.

The saptarishis, or seven great sages, were then produced by Lord Brahma: Bhrigu, Marichi, Atri, Pulastya, Pulaha, Kratuhu, and Vasishtha. He then created Manu, who was entrusted with further procreation as well as the formation of the Manusmriti moral code. There are fourteen Manus, each of which corresponds to one of the fourteen Manvantaras, or Manu periods. All of those unique individuals are manifestations of Ishvara’s creative imagination.

To acquire knowledge and to implement that knowledge in life one needs to be mentally and physically active and healthy and for that daily meditation is a great tool.

There are various types of meditation like Buddhist meditation, heartfulness meditation, mindfulness meditation, meditation for stress, and each meditation benefits are countless. There is also numerous meditation techniques for beginners which help in practicing daily meditation so go ahead and start your journey towards a peaceful and balanced life.

What is the result of knowing Ishvara’s vibhootis or expressions? This is taken up in the next shloka.

Let’s learn to live with “The Gita” via Meditation Affinity…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *